Building My Capture and Deployment Server – Part II: Windows Server 2008 R2 install and configuration

This is the second part of my series on building my capture and deployment server. In Part I, I defined the virtual machine settings I used. In this part I will go through the install of Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 SP1 Enterprise Edition and the initial configuration.

Installing Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 SP1 Enterprise Edition

The install is a standard Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 Enterprise Edition full installation. I chose the Enterprise Edition so I would have all the roles if I needed them. In a production environment you should choose the appropriate edition to cut down on licensing cost.

Initial Configuration

After the Windows install is finished, you are presented with the Initial Configuration Tasks wizard. If you’ll notice, in the lower right corner the network is not connected. This is because the network driver for the VMXNET3 NIC is not part of the standard windows install. To correct this, and to provide other improvements, we will install VMware tools. I originally was using the VMXNET3 NIC type, but could not get network address translation to work when setting up RRAS. Long story short, after several hours of frustration, cussing, and significant googling I found this entry on the VMware community boards reporting this as a reproducible bug going back to version ESXi 4. In the end, I changed out both NICs to the E1000s and will use those in all my future virtual machines. It is disappointing because the VMXNET3 NIC is supposed to have less overhead on the host than the E1000 NIC. Anyway, on to installing VMware tools.

Building My STIG Image - Part I - 12

On the VMware console window, click VM > Guest > Install/Upgrade VMware Tools.

Building My STIG Image - Part I - 13

Click OK.

Building My STIG Image - Part I - 14

Run the setup.

Building My STIG Image - Part I - 15

Once the setup completes, the installation will prompt you to reboot. I selected no because I want to change the computer name which also requires a reboot. I also took the time to set the time zone.

Building My STIG Image - Part I - 21

After the reboot, these were the steps I took.

  1. Set the screen resolution to 1920×1080
  2. Turned on Windows Update and updated the server. This took time and required several reboots and rescans to ensure I had all the updates.
  3. Renamed the NICs to External Network and Internal Network to better tell them apart and disabled IPv6.
  4. Shutdown and take a snapshot.

Series Posts

Posted on January 26, 2013, in Lab, STIG, vSphere. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

