Building My Capture and Deployment Server – Part V: Setting up DHCP

This is the fifth part of my series on building my capture and deployment server. In Part I, I defined the virtual machine settings I used. In Part II, I installed Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 SP1 Enterprise Edition and did initial configurations. In Part III, I configured Network Address Translation. In Part IV, I setup Active Directory and DNS. In this part, I will configure DHCP as one of the prerequisites for Windows Deployment Services.

Configuring DHCP

In order for machines to PXE boot they need to get an IP address, and to do that they need DHCP. The DHCP server will also have a DHCP server option set by the Windows Deployment Services configuration wizard to allow those machines to find the deployment server.

In Server Manager, right click Roles and select Add Roles. Click next on the first screen.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 01

Put a check in the box next to DHCP Server and click Next twice.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 02 

On this screen, it is asking to select a network that DHCP will server clients on. In my case, only my Internal NIC is selectable as it is the only one with a static IP address. Click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 03

Here the parent domain is pre-populated for us. The preferred DNS server was set to 127.0.0.1 as that is what is set for the Internal NIC. But DHCP clients can’t use that to resolve DNS records as it would point them to themselves for resolution. I changed it to the IP address of the Internal NIC. Click Next.

image

WINS is to Netbios names what DNS is to domain names. This was used primarily in pre Windows 2000 clients and isn’t much used anymore. I left the default of not requiring WINS and clicked Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 05

Now we add the scopes that the DHCP server will distribute. Click the Add button.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 06

I’ve configured the scope with a name of “192.168.5.0/24 Primary” and set the range from 192.168.5.2 – 192.168.5.254. I also set the default gateway to point to the Internal NICs interface. Click OK, and then click Next to go to the next screen.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 07

Since I am not using IPv6, I disable the DHCPv6 stateless mode and click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 08

On this screen we are prompted to select the credentials to authorize this DHCP server within Active Directory. Since I am logged in as the domain administrator, I just click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 09

Review the settings and click Install.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part IV - 10

When the installation completes, close the Add Roles Wizard.

We now have a fully functioning DHCP server serving 192.168.5.x addresses.


Series Posts

Posted on January 27, 2013, in Lab, STIG. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

