Building My Capture and Deployment Server – Part VI – Setting up Windows Deployment Services

This is the sixth part of my series on building my capture and deployment server. In Part I, I defined the virtual machine settings I used. In Part II, I installed Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 SP1 Enterprise Edition and did initial configurations. In Part III, I configured Network Address Translation. In Part IV, I setup Active Directory and DNS. In Part V I configured DHCP. In this part, I will configure Windows Deployment Services.

Configuring Windows Deployment Services

In order to deploy images over the network, we will install Windows Deployment Services. This is a very nice tool to assist in enterprise deployments. It can be configured for multicasting to enable multiple clients to download images at the same time while using less bandwidth that point to point transfers. It also enables deployment over less reliable links making the deployment more resilient.

In Server Manager, right click Roles and select Add Roles. Click next on the first screen.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 01

Put a check in the box for Windows Deployment Services and click Next twice.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 02

Deployment Server requires the Transport Server functionality, so leave both checked here and click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 03

Confirm and Install.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 04

Once the install finished, close the Add Roles Wizard. Expand the Roles, Windows Deployment Services, and Servers nodes. Right click on DEV-DC-01.contoso.local and select Configure Server.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 05

On the first screen is a reminder of the requirements for Windows Deployment Services. Click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 06

Select a location to house the boot images, install images, and other files that deployment. As we will be using MDT 2012 to manage our images, the only thing we will add to this folder will be the customized MDT 2012 boot WIM. I will stick with the default and click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 07

The wizard warns us about using the system drive for the deployment folder. I acknowledge the warning and continue.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 08

Here is where the wizard will configure DHCP as I mentioned in my last post. On here I select both check boxes per the instructions.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 09

There are three options here. The first can be used if you are still configuring the deployment server and do not want to respond to any requests. The second will respond only to clients who have had an Active Directory computer account created and the PXE GUID associated to it. The last is what I will use as I have no intention of joining the client computer to the domain while developing the image. Click Next to begin the configuration.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 10

Once the configuration is completed, we are asked if we want to add images to the server now. Since we haven’t built any images yet, I uncheck the box and click Finish.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VI - 11

We now have Windows Deployment Services ready to accept images and take client requests.

Series Posts

Posted on January 27, 2013, in Lab, STIG. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

