Building My Capture and Deployment Server – Part VII – Setting up Microsoft Deployment Toolkit 2012

This is the seventh part of my series on building my capture and deployment server. In Part I, I defined the virtual machine settings I used. In Part II, I installed Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 SP1 Enterprise Edition and did initial configurations. In Part III, I configured Network Address Translation. In Part IV, I setup Active Directory and DNS. In Part V I configured DHCP. In Part VI I configured Windows Deployment Services. In this part, I will install the Microsoft Deployment Toolkit 2012 Update 1.

Installing Microsoft Deployment Toolkit 2012 Update 1

The Microsoft Deployment Toolkit 2012 Update 1 is the final piece that needs to be installed in order to begin image creation. This is the tool where we will add Operating System images, drivers, patches, and create task sequences.

I downloaded MDT 2012 Update 1 from Microsoft’s website. As I am running on a 64 bit operating system, I download the MicrosoftDeploymentToolkit2012_x64.msi file.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 01

Double click the install file, and click Run on the security warning. The setup wizard start. Click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 03

Accept the End User License Agreement and click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 04

I kept the defaults to install everything. Click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 05

I chose to not join the Customer Experience Improvement program.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 06

Click Install and then we are on our way. After the installation, click the finish button.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 07

Now that the toolkit is installed, lets open the Deployment Workbench. This is the tool where you will create your images, upload drivers, create task sequences, and more. But there is still a little bit of configuration left to be ready to begin image development. Click Start, All Programs, expand Microsoft Deployment Toolkit, and click on Deployment Workbench.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 08

The Deployment Workbench is broken down into two parts. The Information Center is where you can find documentation on how to use the tool. This is also where you can find the Components node to download optional and required components. The Deployment Shares are where we will create a deployment share to house images and tasks. That will be in a future post. For now, expand the Information Center node and click on Components.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 09

On this screen you can see the optional components, and the one required component. The required component is the Windows Automated Installation Kit (x64) (WAIK). This component is used in the background by MDT to build the image and boot WIMs that are used in deployment. Before we install WAIK, we will check for component updates. Click on Check for Updates in the Action pane on the right hand side.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 10

When the wizard first opens, there is a checkbox asking you to connect to the internet. I don’t know why this checkbox is even there as you can’t continue without an internet connection. Go ahead and click through the wizard until completed.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 11

After the update completes we can see that some available component versions were updated and some new components were added. The one we are concerned with at the moment is the Windows Automated Installation Kit (x64) that is marked as Required. Click on it and click the Download button.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 12

Once you click the Download button, MDT will begin verifying the installed components and begin downloading the component. Once the download completes it will appear in the Downloaded section and be ready for install.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 13

Clicking the install button will begin the WAIK install wizard. Click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 14

Accept the license agreement and click Next.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 15

Accept the default installation folder and click Next. Click Next again to confirm the installation.

Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 16 Building My Capture and Deployment Server - Part VII - 17

Once the installation finished, close the wizard. If you check the components node again, it “should” say that it is installed now. Mine for some odd reason is still listed under the downloaded section saying it is required. However, testing shows that it IS installed and working fine. It seems this is just an odd bug.

With MDT 2012 Update 1 installed, this ends this series. We now have a server ready to build images with.

Series Posts

Posted on January 27, 2013, in Lab, STIG. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

